Book Review: Under the Lights by Abbi Glines

under-the-lights

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

Publication Date: August 23, 2016

Format: Hardback

Pages: 320 Pages

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis:

Willa can’t erase the bad decisions of her past that led her down the path she’s on now. But she can fight for forgiveness from her family. And she can protect herself by refusing to let anyone else get close to her.

High school quarterback and town golden boy Brady used to be the best of friends with Willa—she even had a crush on him when they were kids. But that’s all changed now: her life choices have made her a different person from the girl he used to know.

Gunner used to be friends with Willa and Brady, too. He too is larger than life and a high school football star—not to mention that his family basically owns the town of Lawton. He loves his life, and doesn’t care about anyone except himself. But Willa is the exception—and he understands the girl she’s become in a way no one else can.

As secrets come to light and hearts are broken, these former childhood friends must face the truth about growing up and falling in love…even if it means losing each other forever.

Book Review

It took me a week to finish this book, and I’m glad that I’m finally done. Adulting is hard af, guys! If I could only turn back time where I have a lot of times in my life, I would do it. but it’s too impossible so, I need to deal with this.

anyway, I like this book better than until Friday night. the story is not too steamy compared to the 1st book. it focused on how to deal with the problems. so our main characters here has a lot of flaws. Willa can’t erase in her mind the problems of her past, she can’t even forgive herself. on the other hand Gunner has a lot of issues with his family. but I’m happy they found peace in each other arms. I’ve seen willa grown on how she deals with the problem. I like it because she’s being practical. and she doesn’t even think about herself, she always put her grandmother first because she wants to earn her trust. it’s a good decision to make. and it turned out good to both her and gunner.

I felt pity about Gunner’s background, imagine if I were him and knows the truth how bad his family is, I’m going to escape and will never ever come back. I wanted to blame his stepfather who turned out to be his not stepfather, seriously!!! he has a fucked up life because of her mother. I don’t blame him for being rude and sometimes being sarcastic. I love him because he fights for what he feels and what’s really for him. such a hero! and Willa is a heroine too.

this book teach me on how to not escape when you have a problem, instead face it, be courageous and be strong. if you haven’t read this book, you better put this on your tbr list. I can’t wait for the 3rd installment of this series! it’s Brday’s story now. that boy deserves a girl who’ll love him back.

Leave a Reply

