BOOK REVIEW: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 

everything2 Publisher: Delacorte Books

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

Format: Hardbound

Pages: 310 Pages

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

BOOK REVIEW

 

This is one of the books that I got from MIBF2016. I don’t really have a plan on buying this but when I heard the news that this book will become a movie, I knew I had to get it. and besides Nick Robinson will be playing the main character of this book, I’m a fan of him since Jurassic world. 😍 this book will probably the most expensive hardbound I owned and I have no regrets with that. Beautiful cover and story is worth every penny 😍👍🏻😊

I love everything in this book. I love the characters and the building of their relationship, especially Maddy and her mom. I love the relationship between Carla and maddy. I’m not familiar with Maddy’s SCID (severe combined immunodeficiency) which basically she is literally allergic to the outside world. I never heard this sickness since then so I think it’s rare. I feel sorry for Maddy (even though she doesn’t want to feel sorry for) because she never experience growing up outside world, like playing with other kids, going to school and so on. I like it when Maddy and her mom plays the Fonetik scrabble, I would love to try it with my friends. I love their movie nights together it’s one of the mother and daughter bonding that I wanna experince. but everything’s changed when Maddy fell in love with Olly. Olly is their new neighbor and Olly wants to be her friend. Olly’s mother asked him to bring this Bundt Cake to them. but Maddy’s mother refused it.

their friendship started when Olly gave her his IM’s address and they’re started chatting. it was so cute it was like love at first sight. their first meeting at sunroom and their first holding hands, I’m really a sucker for this kind of story that’s why I cant put this book down. their first kiss was really cute. why? because Maddy planned about it, she even literally wrote how to do it. but then her mother knows about it then she fired Carla for allowing Maddy to met Olly. I understand her mother for being overprotective. but somehow I understand Maddy that she wants to experience this kind of things. then she made a decision. I don’t want to tell it here, I might spoil you.

and then that plot twist?! I didn’t see it coming. Sometimes I wonder how if feels like to be isolated from outside world. I understand her mother for being overprotective but for that reason why she did it is unacceptable. it’s like she took everything from Maddy. Maddy sacrificed everything because she knew all along her mother was right. anyway, I love this book, it’s beautifully written and the illustartions! I love it. I’m so excited for the movie. I’m hoping that Nick Robinson will give justice for Olly’s character. 👍🏻👍🏻
5🌟/5

 

rating5

Leave a Reply

