BOOK REVIEW: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

It-ends-with-us Publication Date: August 2, 2016

Publisher: Atria Books

Format: Paperback

Pages: 384 Pages

Synopsis:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

BOOK REVIEW 

I don’t know how to put into words how much I feel about this book, because its beyond and I don’t wanna compare this book in CoHo’s other books because I tell you, it isn’t comparable coz it’s beyond! it has this serious topic about marriage and I wanna discuss it right now, here! I want to talk about it chapter by chapter so if you haven’t read this and you’re reading this right now, I wanna tell you to get the hell outta here.. I might spoil you 🙊

I’m going to put in my most eloquent words to describe how I feel about this book, coz’ seriously while typing this I can’t decipher any words in my mind. I’m still In awe how beautiful this book is. but If i need to choose between It ends with us and November 9 I’m still choosing November 9, why? I don’t know, I just feel that this book is for adult only and for those who are already married. IT DEALS WITH A SERIOUS TOPIC THAT CAN BE DISCUSS WITH 25 YEARS OLD ABOVE. 

I ran out of sticky notes while reading this because it feels like every word, every sentence and every chapter is important that I SERIOUSLY NEED TO PUT A STICKY NOTES FOR ME TO REMEMBER EVERYTHING.
its divided into 2 Parts.
Part 1

part one is the most “mushy mushy” part for me, this is my favorite part of the book, when they met and their “NAKED TRUTHS” gahh! it feels like they’re true to theirself, whenever they feel like throwing naked truths to each other. what I love about this is when Dr. Ryle Kincaid doesn’t believe in marriage and eventually he fell in love with Lily because he feels that Lily completed him. He even go straight to Lily’s place even though he just got out from his shift and we all know that he’s tired. THAT SO SWEET, everything in this part is very sweet, from making love and that stethoscope scene (I’m just being Bold) 😍😍😍
Lets talk about Lily’s first.. her childhood when he experienced his fathers cruelty. she saw her father abusing her mother physically. she also met atlas the homeless boy he loved when she was fifteen years old and she helped him when he was nowhere to go. I was crying while reading her letters to Ellen. (we’ll be talking about Atlas later) so yeah, eventually Lily and Ryle is together and they were happy, it feels like it was a perfect relationship that every relationship can look up to, but you can never fool yourself. i was thinking that their relationship was too early. seriously it was too early for me.. it’s important that when you enter into a relationship you need to know them first. i don’t know, its my own opinion, i think because I really don’t believe in love at first sight, so that’s why? well, anyway, I love Ryle Kincaid and their relationship. he wasn’t that bad, he wasn’t that good either. but when it comes to Part two. I was like “What the fudging asshole” 😤😤 dont get me wrong I still love him though.. 💕💕
Part 2

They married in this part, they were happy together until Ryle accidentally pushed Lily away. He actually did it on Part 1 but Lily don’t mind it. he still gave Ryle a chance but if he ever did it again he will leave. but then It happened again, to cut this short, yes Ryle Physically hurt Lily.. he has a psychological problem because of what happened when he was a child, he accidentally hold a real gun and shot his brother (I was crying so hard in this part) 😖😖😖😖 He asked Lily to help him because of this temper. but when the day Alyssa gave birth to Rylee, they went into a fight again, but this time Ryle Head-butted Lily, just because he discovered that Atlas is still a part of Lily’s life. he read the journal, the tattoo, Boston Magnet, and Atlas Interviewed of what’s the meaning of BiBs. I pitied Ryle here, because he has the right to be jealous and he was really hurt by what he discovered. I don’t know but I blamed Lily here, because in the first place she should have told Ryle everything! but on the other hand Fudging Ryle doesn’t have the right to hurt Lily! I’m still hoping that my predictions are wrong but when you expect it, you will expect it, if you know what I mean. Lily, went to Atlas place to cope up her mind on what to do next. if I where in her place, I wanna divorce Ryle. He physically hurt Lily, and no matter what you say Sorry, YOU WILL DO IT AGAIN AND AGAIN. Lily gets pregnant and after that their baby’s born, she Told Ryle the decisions she want. SHE WANTS A DIVORCE.
On my thoughts:

This Book is beautifully ruined. It ruined my life, it ruined my perspective on marriage. I was literally asking my Sister if what if my boyfriend would physically hurt me after we married and my sister told me that I was crazy. she doesn’t understand because she didn’t know what happened on the book. I was scared of Ryle but I love him, I Was totally pissed of by Lily but I admire her strength, braveness and boldness. I hate Atlas but I love him when I got to know him more, I love it when he helped Lily with everything she’s been through. I love everything in this book. the Pinterest-y Flower Shop by Lily, Atlas being chef, Ryle being neurosurgeon and Alyssa and Marshall for being filthy rich. I thought that Lily and Ryle would be ended up with each other, but, reality bites so they didn’t. I’m not a really a fan of this kind of story but there is something about this book that moved me being a woman. I want to personally thank Colleen for writing this story, (I think i will be adding this on my before I die list) I LOVE THIS BOOK and it will always have a special place in my heart. I gave this a 5 ⭐️/ 5 because it deserves it 😊👏🏻👏🏻

 

rating5

xXo, Abby 🙂

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. I agree with you it’s appropriate with mature readers.. because it’s basically a New Adult book. However, just because it has a serious / sensitive topic it’s only appropriate for married people and for ages 25 and above. IEWU is an eye opener to abusive relationships regardless you are single, in a relationship or married. Also, this shouldn’t ruin you on the concept of marriage, keep positive on that. In this book, Colleen Hoover puts you in Lily’s situation of loving someone who is unexpectedly abusive, what will you do? This book more likely tests your decision making. It’s one realistic story that sometimes love isn’t about all about sunshines and rainbows. Sometimes it ends bittersweet but necessary. I pity Ryle, yes he got jealous but he doesn’t have the right to hurt someone over it.

    Like

  2. I love Ryle as well. I’m surprised he’s capable of doing something like that. Colleen Hoover made us root for someone and love him, then she tests us on deciding to leave or stay. I hope you get the concept of this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

