BOOK REVIEW: The distance between us by Kasie West 

the distance between usPublication Date: July 2, 2013

Publisher: Harper Teen

Format: Paperback

Pages: 312 pages

SYNOPSIS:

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.

Before we go to book review, I just want to know you guys that I’ve been really busy this past few days and I haven’t read any single book except the latest book that I made a review which wrote by a Filipino author. but even though I’ve been busy, I manage to finish this book. so let’s get to book review.

I finished reading the distance between us by kasie west in a span of two days. despite of being busy, I thank my inner goddess for pushing me to finished this book. kasie west never go wrong. it’s my second book of her and the first one was the fill-in boyfriend which I like it too.

at first, i thought this book will get my reading slump worse, I judge too soon. but little did I know through out the pages I enjoyed this book thoroughly. it’s a story about caymen who runs a doll store (which give me a little creep, I hate dolls). then she met this guy (who gave a lot of butterflies in my stomach) in their store, which is Xander Spence. so they became friends but the problem is caymen has a lot of insecurities in herself when it comes of the status in life. Xander is rich and their family owns a lot of business and Caymen is only poor and owns nothing but the dolls and more. but litttle did caymen know that her grandparents are rich and owns a lot of pharmacies. which she finds out later in the book.

they develop their feelings for each other by doing this career thing haha. I love both of the main character because they practically have a sense of humor and caymen is so good when it comes to sarcasm which Xander loves the most. this book will probably be listed on my top favorite contemporary of all times. this book will teach you (as it does to me) that the status in life will never be a hindrance if you love a person. the only thing I hate about this book is Robert who’s a jerk, like I want to punch his face! I love it when it ended so well.

I don’t remember in the fill-in boyfriend if braden and gia exchanged I love you’s. I really have this thing when the main characters have this exchanging of I love you’s like what Caymen and Xander did. I’m feeling really mushy mushy! all in all this book is a must read. it will help you to get out of your reading slump. I gave this book a 4/5 🌟 well for xander, You can have all the first sip of my drinks and I’m totally okay with it. 😂😂😂

rating4

xo, abby 🙂

Leave a Reply

