BOOK REVIEW: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Slammed Publication Date: January 5, 2012

Publisher: Atria Books

Format: Paperback

Pages: 317 Pages

Synopsis:

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

BOOK REVIEW (SPOILERS!!!)

I’ve read all colleen hoover’s book except this one. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book  so I decided to give this a try and what a wow?? why I didn’t read this book sooner? it’s about Layken who moved to Yspilanti (I find it heard to pronounce this, so don’t judge me) because her father died and she met this handsome guy named Will. they Kissed and date. Will brings her to Slam. it’s a bar with people who wants to express their feelings through poetry. until one day when Layken is about to go to her classroom then she discovers Will is her teacher. it broke her heart and Find it hard to deal when everything’s around her is Will.

I love this book so much! it focuses more on a family matters and life. I DNF books when it has a lack for relationship but this one is exceptional, because I love it so much. I haven’t read any books with a Teacher-Student Relationship so it’s a new to me but Colleen hoover never goes wrong when it come to her stories, it has always of surprises. I never knew that I will have this thing for a teacher-student relationship, it’s so far-out because I’m a teacher, so erratic but I love the setting of this story. I love everyone’s relationship, I love every character of this story. Specially Kel, he’s so adorable with is Basagna thing and Backward words haha. so cute!! this book has it all, from the “Kilig” factor of Will and Layken on the first pages of the book, Sadness and Happy moments of this book. It burst me into tears when Lake found out that her mother has a stage 4 cancer. I somehow relate with her because I have a mother too who has a cancer.

all in all this book is a mix of kilig, sad, happy and fighting for life book. it’s beautifully written. that’s the reason why I finished this book in a span of 1 day. I want more of Layken and Will so I’m off to read the 2nd book. this book is perfect for those who experiencing a reading slump. all in all I gave this book a 5 stars / 5

rating5

Xo, Abby 🙂

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

