BOOK REVIEW: One Week Girlfriend by Monica Murphy

one week gfPublication Date: January 10, 2013

Publisher: Bantam

Format: Paperback

Pages: 155 Pages

SYNOPSIS:

Temporary. That one single word best describes my life these last few years. I’m working at a temporary job until I can finally break free. I’m my little brother’s temporary mother since our mom doesn’t give a crap about either of us. And I’m that temporary girl all the guys want to get with because I give it up so easily. According to the rumors, at least.

But now I’m the temporary girlfriend of Drew Callahan, college football legend and all around golden guy. He’s beautiful, sweet—and he’s hiding way more secrets than I am. He’s brought me into this fake life where everyone seems to hate me. And everyone seems to want something from him. The only thing he seems to want though is…

Me.

I don’t know what to believe anymore. All I know is, I think Drew needs me. And I want to be there for him.

Forever.  Source (Goodreads)

BOOK REVIEW (Spoiler Alert!!)

How do i start with this book? I really don’t have any plans on reading this book but some of my bookstagram friends post and rant how beautiful this book was, and I knew that I had to get it. so I went to our local bookstore to purchased the 1st and 2nd book of this series. after reading Harry potter and the sorcerer’s stone I immediately dive into this book real quick. it’s my first book by Monica Murphy and she didn’t disappoint me, in fact it makes me want to read more of her books.

it’s a story about Fable and Drew. these two characters deals with a lot of problems and it’s not just a problem. Drew’s life has been pretty fucked up. He asked Fable to be his one week girlfriend (hence, to the title of this book) in exchange for three thousand dollars. Fable’s life is pretty fucked up too, she’s the bread winner of her family, because her mothers doesn’t care about her and owen (her brother). so he grab Drew’s offer. Drew’s going home for thanksgiving and he needs a girlfriend because he wants adele to leaved him alone.

this book ruined everything in my life in a span of 1 day. Drew is the most miserable character I’ve ever known. He blamed himself for his sister’s death. he’s been through a lot. it reminds me so much of fifty shades of grey but I think this book is so much more because something happened between Adele and drew way back  years ago and Drew can’t deal with the situation because he’s so scared that his dad might know his deep dark secret between him and Adele. by the way, Adele is his step mom. I do appreciate Fable’s understanding on Drew. she always comforted Drew and she doesn’t leave him in his dark situation. Adele reminds me so much of Mrs. Robinson haha. I hate her so much. do you ever feel this feeling that you want to punch a character from the book? gosh!! I really hate this freaking molester woman!!! She ruined Drew’s family.!! I was going to sleep and decided to continue reading it when i wake up when I suddenly read Adele’s confession!!! SERIOUSLY!!! I WAS CRYING BECAUSE SHE JUST TOLD DREW THAT VANESSA IS HIS DAUGHTER!!! LIKE WHAT THE FUCK!!! IS SHE TELLING THE TRUTH OR SHE JUST WANT TO RUIN FABLE AND DREW’S RELATIONSHIP? I CANNOT, I CANNOT!!!

I put the book down for about 30 minutes. i need to breathe and savor the moment.. then I get back and finished it. it totally blown my mind!!!! this book deserves a spotlight on my list of favorite book. it’s a cliffhanger and I thank zeus because I have the second book in me. I want to start reading the 2nd book yesternight but my eyes is too tired so I’ll be continuing it now.

“This isn’t a game to me, Fable. This is my life. And I want you to be a part of it … I want you and you only. I’m not sharing you with anyone else.”

rating5

 

Leave a Reply

