BOOK REVIEW: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone by J.K. Rowling

img_4752

Publication Date: June 26, 1997

Publisher: Scholastic

Format: Paperback

Pages: 310 Pages

SYNOPSIS:

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts. Source (Goodreads)

Book Review

my boyfriend bought an old set of harry potter for me. I do owned a books before but it’s too old and some of the pages already torn so it’s not safe for me to re-read the book again.

I’ve read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone when I was in 1st year college of my 1st course. so it’s been 6 years since the last time I read the book. I didn’t appreciate it that much before, coz’ I haven’t watch the movie yet. but this time it’s so good!! I think it’s because I already watch the movie. unfortunately, it took me so long to finish it because I’m watching Descendants of the sun too, while I’m rereading the book. but anyway, enough of the rant, let’s start with my thoughts on how I feel for the book.

it’s like “Love is sweeter, in second time around”

I didn’t find any difficulties while reading this book, hence, it’s a 3rd pov which in my case I have difficulties when it comes to 3rd pov but this book is just so good. it keeps me reading and reading. I felt pity for Harry potter because he’s the most unfortunate child I’ve ever known. living with the Dursley is pain in the ass, but somehow I didn’t feel any hates towards the Dursleys, but thanking them for accepting harry potter to lived in their house, albeit, he is shunned by the Dursley still, it’s so nice of them to accept Harry Potter.

I appreciate Harry Potter in this book for being courage. i know a lot of you guys think that Harry potter is the most un-appreciatable character in this book, but for me I appreciated him a lot. he has this potential as a new gryffindor seeker and he showed to slytherin that he’s capable of something. he’s been through a lot so he deserves all the love in this world.

every character in this book is highly appreciated even Draco Malfoy though he’s getting on my nerves through out my journey in this book. and Harry’s friend Ron and Hermione. I envy Hermione for being so smart and Ron of course, he’s so good at playing chess, I hope I know how to play. Dumbledore and Professor Snape. oh these two characters. I’m continuing the rest of the book after I finish reading the book thief. one harry potter book at a time.

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”

rating5

Leave a Reply

